SQL Commands

SQL commands are instructions used to communicate with the database to perform specific task that work with data.

There are 4 types of SQL Commands as follows:

Data Definition Language (DDL) – DDL commands are used for creating, modifying, and dropping the structure of database objects. The commands are CREATE, ALTER, DROP, RENAME, and TRUNCATE.

Data Manipulation Language (DML) – DML commands are used for storing, retrieving, modifying, and deleting data. These commands are SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE.

Transaction Control Language (TCL) – TCL commands are used for managing changes affecting the data. These commands are COMMIT, ROLLBACK, and SAVEPOINT.

Data Control Language (DCL) – DCL commands are used for providing security to database objects. These commands are GRANT and REVOKE.

This entry was posted in SQL. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply